Comic Book Review: When In Rome

Posted: January 6, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

So I’m doing a comic book story arc today so I can review Agent Carter later (because I love Peggy, so, so, so, much… just letting you know) and there is absolutely no way I am missing the 2 hour premiere.  So without further adieu:

I had been planning on reviewing this, it’s just been a hard week or so.  The thing about holidays is that they’re supposed to be fun but they really just become completely exhausting.  Couple that with having no life during the school semester – and suddenly wanting to have a life if not for a week or two – and you have a complete exhaustive disaster.

Now the premise of the story is that Catwoman – Selina Kyle – heads to Rome to find her roots in the mafia, and brings along The Riddler who actually isn’t as honest as he says.  Then they find this blonde guy hitman and he helps them.  More or less, that is the synopsis.

But actually, I wasn’t as impressed with When In Rome as I thought I would be.  It felt a little bit like a maze but then at the end of it, it was like, cheese?  That’s it?  It felt actually kind of predictable to me.  I didn’t actually like how Selina Kyle was portrayed this time around all that much – she kinda just came off as a total bitch, as opposed to a strong woman with an occasional bitchy attitude with something always up her sleeve.  She kinda just felt one dimensional to me.  You can tell me I’m way off here, I just didn’t like her this time around.  I just… I just didn’t.  Selina also reminded me of Wonder Woman; she didn’t feel sleek, she felt like thunder thighs. I mean, sometimes it was funny, but, really, most of the time it just felt a little ridiculous and kinda overdone with some parts that were meant to be humorous. I liked the aspect of her wanting to avoid Batman at all costs so she could do her thing, but then the other guy is constantly showing up and saving her ass.. and it’s like, this is why we didn’t want Batman around, and then we just get… a Batman… without the batsuit… Not named Bruce.. Um..

I found the ending kinda anti-climatic.  I expected the whole thing with (spoilers now) Louisa to be intriguing, but it really just dove after that for me.  I couldn’t actually find The Riddler’s actions remotely surprising in the end, either.  Some things about it were surprising (like his motive  – or the fight that ensued with a certain someone’s ice gun), but he’s the Riddler, people.  You couldn’t have honestly expected anything different from him; “riddle” is in the guy’s nickname, what makes you think he’s honest?  There were parts that got me thinking, but as I said, the ending was like,  that’s it?  Just cheese?  It wraps up nicely with what it has, but I just think it could’ve used better wrapping paper.  It does give you a glimpse into the window of Catwoman, but by no means do I consider this the entire window.  I like her constant self-battle over being involved with Batman romantically/her nightmares, just because I consider that a part of Catwoman and Batman both.

And Catwoman’s suit.. I’m sorry, but, that just wasn’t it for me.  It looked kind of ridiculous.  I know both Jeph Loeb and Tim Sale are kind of big people and this might be a big deal that I’m criticizing them both, but… really, it was not it for me.  Those ears make you wonder if she was receiving satellite dish tv or something, especially with the accompanying whiskers.  Some of the anatomy drove me fucking crazy, and I kept looking at Catwoman’s legs and wondering why they were hyperextending.  The art was good, the coloring was good, but some of the anatomy – YES I KNOW IT’S A COMIC BOOK! – drove me to Rome.

Overall, if I were to tell you a comic book that embodied Catwoman to me:  As of now, it wouldn’t be this.  It’d be Hush.

Special:  Agent Carter review tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

