Another character QA.

Posted: April 7, 2015 in Uncategorized

So I decided to release another one of these.  This time I’m actually giving you some information!

Q: where have you been?
A: I have been sick for the last three weeks. I’ve been on steroids, sudafed, mucinex, NSAIDs, albuterol, benadryl.  You name it I’ve taken it.   How my kidneys are still here I dont know. How I am not dead is even more of a wonder.

Q: so you’re not just being lazy.
A: not even close.  There was a day I was awake for around 36 hours.

Q: So this character.
A: I’ve already mentioned Orwell is a big inspiration.

Q: so what does he do? Defend a city? State? Country? world?
A: I have thought heavily about this.  The fact is, he doesn’t fit into one category.  I think the character falls into that sort of thing.  I think to decide that prematurely and stick to it you need to have a reallly good handle on what  the fuck you’re doing.  It’s sort of like naming a story before you’ve written it.  It’s a strange concept to me.  The fact is I intended on him defending a city, and he will primarily defend a city, but the world is his playground if you will.

Q: give us a name.
A: Mailroom.

Q: strange name isn’t it?
A: well yes and no.  It came to me one day walking my paper routes (major hint right here).  The mailroom is where it all happens.  Where the packages are sent and delivered.  Where the tedious organization happens.  where all the unknown workers are, but without them, it wouldn’t happen.  You wouldn’t get your package.  The service wouldn’t deliver. The mailroom is like that really mystical place that nobody knows, too.  You go to places and it’s like, where’s the mailroom? was it even delivered? how do we find the mailroom?  It’s just this place full of production and enigma dashed away into an unknown part of the process.  Stuck away in some unknown part of the world it happens to be in or serve.

Q: it’s still a weird name.
A: yes I’m aware. He rocks though.

Q: so… How does an unknown part of freaking FedEx relate to… Superheroes?
A: more than you think.  He’s a combination of the things that surround us.  He is a mainfestation of the bombardment of media we get combined with the traditional idea of old school media.  Before the days of cnn.com or Fox television, we had newspapers.  Magazines.  In other words he’s probably the only superhero who has a Facebook account and a cell phone while remaining completely under your nose.

Q: so he’s very public?
A: anything but.  He’s very much an enigma, and it’s a huge part of his story and a plotline I’m working on.  You see Wolf Blitzer analyzing like, one word Obama said that one time 8 years ago in that really obscure speech in some random state.  Just apply that logic to MR. They know who he is.  They are curious about him.  He even does a very public job as his alter ego so he is directly under their nose.  But he won’t tell them.  Not a thing. It doesn’t help the federal government doesn’t like him much.

Q: why the feds?
A: he’s an anti hero.  Anti hero things, bro.

Mind. He is copyrighted. Officially. No stealing.

Leave a Reply

