Coming back with a bang: NYCC.

Posted: October 14, 2015 in Events
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

This sort of just panned out this way.  I come back the same time I attend NYCC for the first time ever.  First, really, I want to say thanks.  My hell that is college is almost over (not the college part, the hell part).  I needed to take a semester or two away from this, which was depressing as anything.  I missed writing even as I’m taking enough writing classes to successfully make me sick of writing.  The upside to taking writing classes, though, is prepping for MR writing.  I get to practice as much as I possibly can before I embark on this.  I have a few storylines in mind, and although I draw I will need an artist because I barely have time to eat dinner nowadays.   (sidenote: if you’re unaware I have a character I want to write a comic book for).

I want to say something:  This blog is a hobby and a job.  In other words, I’d love to see it turn into a job.  But if it doesn’t, I will always come back to it.  I enjoy it too much to fully ever let it go, and I’ll probably do some form of professional writing whether it be a comic book, a novel, poetry, fictional/non-fiction essays, or anthology of short stories.  And you will know about it.  But mostly, I want people to just read it and have a good time with it as much as I do.

So where did I go besides comic con?  I’m a double major, first off, so naturally I’m double the strapped and stressed as you if you’re a liberal arts.  I’m half (sort of) science.  This doesn’t apply if you’re a biology/psychics/math/STEM related major: my apologies, but you shouldn’t be reading my blog and trying to eat, sleep, or shower.  I also was hiding out to avoid reviewing the new Shitastic Four movie so I didn’t need to attend anger management classes.

But onward to Comic Con.

First let me say I am lucky to live in the land of the second largest comic con in the United States.  At the same time, a New York Minute is no joke, and most days of my life lunch doesn’t exist.

My land, right here.

My land, right here.

Living here is part of why writing is so difficult.  My life never stops, its a never ending merry go round of shit to do. I’ve wanted to get back to this, I’ve wanted to write again both for myself and for Comic Frontline.  I’m going to strike a balance.  I’m considering some combination of movies and comic book arcs (I don’t do that cliffhanger stuff) and one post that is solely more like my Christine post perhaps once a week each.  Regardless, I went to Comic Con Saturday and Sunday.  I wanted to go on Friday, but that horrible queue system made it hard to do and slowly getting the tickets became The Hunger Games and the scalpers were Mr. Snow.

imageI still went despite the slightly traumatizing experience of getting the tickets.  I did not go to any panels, but I wish I went to writing panels.  Apparently there was information regarding publishing your own comic book, and that could’ve been useful.  I went for myself and for my blog.  I mean, honestly, it’s all kind of a blur to me.  I mostly went to booths and bought way too much shit and figured out who everyone was cosplaying as.  I did do a cosplay on Sunday, but not Saturday.  It was Jurassic Park related (duh).  Unfortunately nobody guessed what I was (or cared very much at all about what I was), but if you saw somebody in a pink shirt with a JP cap it was yours truly, you creeper.

My first thoughts upon going was, well, it’s just fucking crowded.  Really crowded.  I kind of wish they’d do something about that, but I don’t imagine what they could possibly do.  It just seems like a bit of a hazard to have hoards of people who are barely moving their feet.  The booths were rather interactive, and if nothing else, really interesting.

I'm set. I can leave NYCC now.

I’m set. I can leave NYCC now.  It’s coming with me, though.

While at NYCC, I honestly realized how poor I was.  I saw posters signed by celebrities (Ahem, Hayley Atwell) and Sideshow statues that I wish I had 400 bucks lying around to buy.  They featured Batman statues and an amazing Joker statue so amazing that the price was TBD.  It was that gorgeous that they couldn’t even decide on a price yet.  I went into NYCC with the mindset I wanted one thing related to a small group of people:  Batman, The Joker, Batgirl, Nightwing, Captain America/The Avengers, Peggy, and Catwoman.  I found Batman, Joker, Avengers, and Batgirl fairly easily.  Nightwing wasn’t too tough but it required some searching, same with Peggy.  Guess who’s still the only character I can find nothing for?

That's right.

That’s right.

Yep.  Catwoman.  I could find next to nothing Catwoman.  I found one mediocre t-shirt, this statue, and a few other things, but that’s basically it.  While the statue is a great mention, it’s not economically practical.  I mean, I blew over 100 bucks in this place.  I can’t just drop 400 bucks on a statue.  It was frustrating.  There were some amazing cosplayers, but I was undercover.  I wanted to take a photo of them and put them on here (like a top ten cosplayers type thing), but I was with people who I don’t want to see this blog because I’m intensely private that way.  Next year I will be doing that.  The ones that come to mind are the Hulk Buster, Ghost Busters, and the woman dressed as Claire from JW (or at least a JW scientist).

Speaking of JW.. how disappointing.

They’ve already announced another movie, and had a corner dedicated to the movie, but that’s it.  Now mind you, I liked Jurassic Park before it was cool.  I waited for JW for 14 years.  I scoured the floor for more JW related things, but nothing.  It was all superheroes and anime, and a bit of Pokemon but even that was lacking a bit.

imageThis was the extent of JW-related things.  I wish it wasn’t, but it was.  All the booths had impressive displays, don’t get me wrong – but if you want to keep the hype going for a movie (a JW sequel) that everyone is collectively like “what now?” at, I don’t know, any more merch would help out.  Buy something.  Limited edition something.  A bunch of guys in costumes is nice, but ship out some shit to sell.  I LOVED the amount of Civil War, Deadpool, and Avengers stuff around.  It was utterly everywhere.  And even Peggy got her share of time:

image

Like some other people we know.

800 bucks.. that hurts.

Regardless, I was happy with my prints and my lithographs.  The booths, while expensive, were wonderful eye candy.  The murals might not have come home with me, but they were immersive nonetheless.  You really knew where you were.  You really felt the excitement for future movies and comics and games and whatever else.  It was very superhero heavy, and actually a good bit Star Wars heavy.  It being superhero heavy is why I lost as much money as I did. There were also exclusive Harry Potter statues and The Hunger Games – unfortunately I am not reporting on anime because I have no clue who anyone is.  Pokemon was lacking a bit, but I feel we’re in the age of superheroes – and with references to Civil War, Bat v Supes, and Deadpool utterly everywhere, NYCC didn’t disappoint.  For the JP nerds – they had old school JP toys from The Lost World and the original Jurassic Park in the box.  For sale.  There.  I wish.

Overall, I feel there could be more emphasis on female characters.  Tap into that reserve.  More Batgirl, Peggy, Catwoman, and Poison Ivy could prove useful.  You might even make a buck (or a couple hundred thousand).  It felt male character centric, with some extra emphasis on Wonder Woman.  I just want to see that happen.  Maybe Wonder Woman will help change it.

No Fantastic Four, though, of course.

Leave a Reply

